In Pursuit of an Organized Life

. . . putting life in order

Energy

on April 5, 2014

E is for energy.  I often use energy as an excuse of why I am not doing something.  I’m too tired.   What I am trying to figure out is the cost versus gain? 

  • Will doing the task make me less tired, more tired, or about the same?
  • Will the task be more fun/easier later?
  • Am I actually going to go to bed/rest if I don’t do that?
  • Am I stressed out rather than tired?
  • How long will it take to complete?
  • Can I relax better after the task is out of the way?

I often find that I get a second wind after everyone goes to bed and I am relaxing.   I am no longer tired and stay up later than I intend.  While some down time is needed at times,  I may be using my energy as an excuse.    If I have the energy to do fun stuff, I likely just don’t want to do the task and am procrastinating.

7 responses to “Energy

  1. Hello,
    Here from the A-Z, and I put off boring stuff too, do the minimum that will suffice, and focus on the fun. And staying up after everyone’s gone to bed is seriously productive me-time.
    Best wishes,
    Nilanjana.

  2. I get second winds at weird times too. I’ll be nodding off somewhere then all of a sudden I’ll feel like staying up all night reading or watching movies. I don’t think my chemistry follows the laws of nature anymore.

  3. Energy and wise use as one ages is so important,,,visiting from A-Z!

  4. Shawn Yankey says:

    Procrastination is my problem. I am VERY bad about putting things off that I should just do.
    Shawn from Laughing at Life 2

  5. Love your cost vs. gain list. Tonight I stayed up late folding laundry and getting the kitchen cleaned up and dishes put away. Yes, I lost a couple hours of sleep, but when I wake up tomorrow to a clean house and clean clothes, I’ll be energized by the fact that I can get out and have a little fun, knowing the basic housework is done.

Leave a Reply

