In Pursuit of an Organized Life

. . . putting life in order

Cooking vs Cleaning

on September 30, 2014

I like to cook and find it relaxing.   I am not a gourmet chef and typically don’t cook meals that take long than 1/2 an hour to prep.   I find that I can kind of zone out into the details of the task.   It doesn’t happen all of the time, but most of the time once I am started I enjoy the task.

Cleaning on the other hand, I typically avoid.  The two tasks has several similarities. Both:

  • Require attention to detail
  • Incorporate movement (fine or gross motor)
  • Have to be redone on a daily and weekly basis

I think if I could find more ways to make them similar I might like cleaning more.   What’s the difference?

  • Home cooked meals have immediate feedback (kids/husband like not like) while cleaning often goes unrecognized
  • Spend less time cooking than cleaning
  • Cooking smells better
  • Cooking forces me to stay in a small area and I’m less likely to get distracted
  • Kids are willing to help with cooking

Let me know if you see any similarities or difference.   It may be simply a frame of mind theory.   If I think it is meditative and peaceful, then I will enjoy the task more.

Enjoy your day!

3 responses to “Cooking vs Cleaning

  1. Ann Koplow says:

    I prefer reading your post to either of those activities.

Leave a Reply

