In Pursuit of an Organized Life

. . . putting life in order

Heavy

on April 8, 2014

H is for heavy.   H was one of the first letters that I had to really think of to come up with a topic I liked.   Home or heart seemed like a natural H word for an organizing blog, but I didn’t have much to say about either of those topics at the moment.

I picked heavy because I am trying to downsize in my life.   Most literally, I am trying to lighten the load that I am carrying in my work bag that I carry every day to work.  Today I carried my bag 10 different times.  Since I am going in and out of my car and buildings several times a day, the weight of my bag can cause pain or discomfort.  I want to have what I need available, but I often don’t know what that will be.   I try to keep some go to forms, handouts, and materials with me.  There is a slippery slow with having the basics with and having everything I may need “someday” in my bag.

I am also trying to downsize the areas of my life where the clutter feels heavy.  Those moments where I spend scrambling past items that I don’t use to get to the few items I use on a regular basis.   Those areas of my house that weigh me down instead of energizing me.

8 responses to “Heavy

  1. I also need to learn how to downsize when it comes to many different areas in my life. My purse is huge and often turns into the black hole and eats up anything I put in there. This is a great topic to write and think about, especially with it being spring. Spring cleaning forces me to downsize my wardrobe and my belongings that I just don’t use.

    Happy A-Z and thank you for checking out my blog! Following you 🙂

  2. smblooding says:

    I’ve been doing a lot of work on this as well. It’s really helped! I’ve got this new feng shui thing going on my apartment. Well, in two rooms. I still have a lot of work to do. I’ve downsized my book collection, which was painful. I’m working on my craft room/office. It’s a lot of work, but totally worth it. Now, the bag? I don’t really have an issue with that. I’ve always been one of those people who grabs the smallest bag (if she grabs one at all) and puts ONLY the things she KNOWS she’s going to use that day.

    • I grab the small I bag that I need with the kids or day outings. It’s so nice not needing a huge diaper bag with everything in it. Still figuring out the work part.

      • smblooding says:

        Ahhhhh. You’re still in diaper bag syndrome. Oh, I do remember those days. I thinks that’s the reason I’m super into the small bags now. I had to carry around a HOUSE with those two. LOL! Work, though? *lips vibrating sigh*

  3. natalie says:

    Use a small luggage carrier with wheels?

  4. I’ve been working on downsizing all the paperwork I have accumulated since 1999. I have many large plastic bins full of just about anything that can be put on paper! I’ve been told that you only need to keep things for 7 years but I’ve always been afraid something would come up and I wouldn’t have the particular document that I needed. Now the plastic bins are not so heavy (and I’ve actually been able to get rid of some).

Leave a Reply

