In Pursuit of an Organized Life

. . . putting life in order

Arrange

on April 1, 2014

A is for Arrange.  Trying to figure out how to arrange, sort, and sort stuff.   I often think figuring out that piece of organizing is the most difficult. 

  • How many categories do I need?
  • Should I store all books/papers/etc in the same spot or place them based on task or use?
  • Do I put them in alphabetical order? by person? or not sort?

I often spend so much energy trying to figure out the system that I end up wasting time that could have been spent DOING the project rather than thinking about it.  Then the next time I start working on the project again.  I think of a better system and rearrange the project.

There is hope.  I have found a system that works for me for arranging and sorting socks.  First I sort by person (Dad, Mom, kids).  Then I sort each pile by color or pattern.  Then from there find precise matches.  It eliminates the decision and searching process. It makes several fast mini decision making steps. 

7 responses to “Arrange

  1. Saw you at the a-z linky. 🙂 “Arrange” is the perfect “A” word for an organization blog!

  2. Millie Burns says:

    Working my way backwards on A to Z…just happy to meet new bloggers. I am so darn unorganized. I may need to make several visits here : )

    • I’m a work in progress so other unorganized folks are VERY welcome. Sometimes it’s nice to hear from others that are in the same boat just as much as someone who has all the answers.

  3. lv2trnscrb says:

    I think you came up with a great system for organizing socks. I know that was always fun trying to match up socks when the kids still lived at home. I am organized, I just live with one who isn’t, LOL, so it makes trying to get organized a challenge sometimes 🙂 Good luck with the rest of the challenge!

    betty
    http://viewsfrombenches.blogspot.com/

  4. So glad you are joining the fun. Nothing like some external motivation to get blogging again. Arrange is the perfect first step for this.

  5. Found you from the challenge, and look forward to learning more about your organizational goals. It’s a neverending process *sigh*

Leave a Reply

