In Pursuit of an Organized Life

. . . putting life in order

Worth doing Badly

on February 16, 2013

I heard someone on NPR say that “Anything worth doing is worth doing badly”.    I’m not sure who said it or if the quote is exactly right, but I liked it.  It talks to me about consistency and  being gentler with yourself.  It’s the old catch 22—you want to be good before you do something, but to be good you have to put in the time.  The more you do something the better you get.  A “bad” workout is better than no workout.

I did that with the guest room yesterday.  I had piles of blankets, papers, and picture frames.  The blankets are now hidden in drawers.  The paper pile is cut in half and the rest is partially sorted with other paper that need to be sorted.  The picture frames are still there, but the family picture that included my youngest daughter is now on the wall.  The rest of the frames are in bags or in a more organized pile.  Will I win any organizing awards? Nope.  Did I delay some projects until later rather than dealing with it?  Yep, but it’s closer than it was and I dealt with some papers that were from a job 3 years ago.

The floor is now washed.  There are still random sticky things that I may deal with if I have time, but I figure I’m better having off having the whole house partially clean rather than one area sparkling.

3 responses to “Worth doing Badly

  1. Candy S says:

    Hi Mrs. V, I have nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogging Award and/or the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. I couldn’t decide. 🙂 Check out the link: http://findingorderincorpusa.wordpress.com/2013/02/18/i-am-honored-once-again/

Leave a Reply

