In Pursuit of an Organized Life

. . . putting life in order

Quote of the Week

on February 12, 2013

“The harder you fight to hold on to specific assumptions, the more likely there’s gold in letting go of them.”
— John Seely Brown

I liked this quote because it talks about the struggle and value of letting go.  The mind, body, and space are interconnected so much more than I initially thought when I started this blog.  Not being able to let go of a minor inconvenience or comment can affect my mood and productivity for an evening.

Letting go also relates to cleaning and organizing.  Letting go of items that are no longer useful.  It’s also letting go of how or when things should be done.  I run into that with exercise and cleaning.  I ran out of dishwasher soap, so I can’t clean the kitchen.   I can’t make it to a class at the gym so I guess I won’t work out.

It can also be letting go of an idea that something is an awful task.  The tasks that I dread often aren’t as bad as I fear.

What are you struggling to let go of?

 

 

2 responses to “Quote of the Week

  1. This is a great quote, with so many different types of truth underlying it. It speaks to the personal, how assumptions hold us back, but also to real live opportunities–why entrepreneurs succeed and what that over used phrase “out of the box” thinking really means.

Leave a Reply

