In Pursuit of an Organized Life

. . . putting life in order

Self Care is not the Enemy

on February 5, 2013

I’m starting to realize that self-care is not in opposition to productivity.  I say I’m too busy to exercise or socialize or meditate, but giving up those things does not guarantee that I will get more done.  Usually if I say I’m too busy,  I spend more time stressed out or dreading tasks than actually getting stuff done.  So I’d be giving up some of that time rather than productive time.

Now timing plays a role.  I’m not going to go out to a movie and dinner with friends the night before some huge day at work.  I may have to miniaturize the task to fit the current scenario.

  • Workout at home instead of hour-long class at the gym
  • Calling a friend instead of visiting
  • 3 minute meditation instead of following the program as written
  • Weekend getaway instead of week long cruise

It’s like Tim Gunn—-“Make it work.”

2 responses to “Self Care is not the Enemy

  1. Just like any priority, I’ve found that I have to schedule in my personal time or relaxation just like I schedule in work and meetings into my schedule. These should be priorities after all – so it’s essential to make time for them. Great post!

Leave a Reply

