In Pursuit of an Organized Life

. . . putting life in order

Purposeful

on November 14, 2012

My goal for this week to eliminating my expectations and to be purposeful. I had originally thought of having productivity as one of the goals, but I’m okay with a little down time.  To me the difference is productivity feels goal oriented and having measurable end results.  Purposeful implies that there is a reason and a choice behind the actions.  Visiting with my husband might not have been productive, but it was purposeful because I value the time with my family.  Purposeful also indicates that it is a choice.   It’s not mindlessly wasting time or waiting until the decision is made by outside factors.  It is deciding that this is what I value and this is what I want to be doing right now.

Eliminating expectations ties in with being realistic with what is best for me NOW.   My life constantly changes and the time when life has settled and is “figured out”  I’m learning will likely never happen.  I still see the value in goals and long range plans, but what that will look like or when it will happen might change.  I think there is a fine line between giving up on goals and dreams and modifying them to fit the current situation.  For this week, it’s trying to step away from the expectation of the “perfect day” and the expectation of what should get done.

As always it’s a work in progress, it is a lot easier to say great ideas than to live them.  Wish me luck!

2 responses to “Purposeful

  1. Well said! There is value in being adaptable and not getting caught up worrying about meeting goals and expectations. I truly wish you luck as I struggle with this on a daily basis! I look forward to hearing how your week turns out! I’m inspired!

Leave a Reply

