In Pursuit of an Organized Life

. . . putting life in order

Scheduled Motivation

on October 15, 2012

I wish I could schedule motivation. So often the motivation to complete tasks occur when I can’t complete the task (kid sick, busy, etc). Other times, I will have a surplus of motivation and energetically complete the tasks until the day or my energy is done and then not want to think about it again.   I guess that is where dedication comes in. Doing it when there isn’t that drive or love of the task. Hopefully the motivation fairy will be kind to me this week and to you as well.

4 responses to “Scheduled Motivation

  1. ctminnesota says:

    “I guess that is where dedication comes in. Doing it when there isn’t that drive or love of the task.” That is exactly it…break tasks, projects, goals into smaller parts, and do it anyways. Each little chip takes minimal effort & will culminate in forward progress!

    Having said that, if you DO find a way to schedule motivation, please, please, PLEASE share!! 🙂

  2. greenermums says:

    I’m just like this. I can’t muster up the energy to sort things out when I actually have the time and then, for instance, when it’s the kids bedtime I all of a sudden find the energy and motivation to tidy their rooms! If I could tap into that spontaneous energy whenever required my life would be a lot less cluttered xx

  3. It is hard to accept, not having control. I struggle with this too. I am a long term planner, a self reflector, what if machine, and a constant surpriser. I am rarely a surprisee. For the big stuff,the best advice I have gotten is to learn to accept and then detach. Thinking of the problem with the mind of a more experienced me, looking back on life with a wisdom only gained by years on earth. Of course, actually doing that is where the rubber meets the road. I am currently in a situation, where I have no control and desperately desire a specific outcome. I am afraid and apart. And it is driving me crazy. Perhaps soon i will gain the insight to enact this advice. Sorry for rambling and being vague. I like this post a lot!!!

    ~C.A.

    • Thanks for the comments. If I could follow all the advice I give to others, my life would be so much better. So many things are a lot easier on paper than in real life. Good luck figuring out your situation or being okay with not figuring it out right away.

Leave a Reply

