In Pursuit of an Organized Life

. . . putting life in order

Realistic Goals

on July 29, 2012

August is approaching fast. I want to enjoy and productively use the month as best I can. I also realize that I will not be able to reorganize my whole house, get into Olympic shape, and teach my daugther how to read in a month. I want to have priorities and get stuff done, but I also don’t want to feel under pressure or feel discouraged if I don’t get some of the tasks done. In the past, I’ve had lofty goals and only got a few done. Often I wasted away about 75% of the time and then crammed a few tasks in the last few days before the deadline.

It’s trying to find the balance between setting goals and getting priorities done and let the days and events flow as they may. I love the quote that I read on the health and fashion blog “The Skinny Confidential”     http://theskinnyconfidential.com/   “Do something today that your future self will thank you for.”   I love the open endedness of it and its a good yet simple way to guide a decision.

My plan is to do a brain dump and write down all of the ideas of things I want to do before the end of summer. Then go through and highlight the top priorities. I’ll have to decide if I want to focus on one or two areas of my life and really see progress or try to do a little bit of everything. I’ll let you know what I decide later.

Leave a Reply

