In Pursuit of an Organized Life

. . . putting life in order

Why does it matter?

on July 22, 2012

       This weekend I read two articles about the reasons and motivation for certain behavior.  I wasn’t seeking either out, but I think the timing was good on both of them.   I must not be the only one affected with variable motivation.  The reason I like both was it made me think about priorities.  If I can’t think of a good reason of why I’m doing something,  I’m probably not likely to stick with that goal.

       The first one was related to the instant benefits of exercise.  Instead of focusing on the long term gains of weight loss or being able to accomplish some athletic feat, focus on how it impacts today.  The ones that I think I appreciated most was the stress relief, more patience with kids,  and more energy. 

        The other article focused on the Why of Clutter.  It talked about how clutter impacts stress and also how clutter can be related to not dealing with problems or not knowing yourself.  I didn’t agree with all of the points in the article, but I could appreciate how much time could be devoted to dealing with the effects of clutter (losing things, etc) and how you have to prioritize to be organized in your house (and mind).

Leave a Reply

