In Pursuit of an Organized Life

. . . putting life in order

Guest Bedroom

on May 25, 2012

As my mother was coming into town, I unlocked the door to the guest bedroom. It’s probably the least used room of the entire house. It’s probably used as a guest room 20-30 nights out of the year. The rest of the time it is a dumping ground. We put things in it so we don’t have to deal with it and then lock the door so the girls don’t get in.

Below is a list of items in the guest room (that I know of):

  • dozens of picture frames that need pictures
  • random wall art from my husband’s youth
  • broken mini pinball machine
  • gift wrapping supplies
  • possible presents
  • random papers from SLP workshops and past jobs
  • folders and notebooks
  • Costumes and maternity clothes

Now I have to figure out to do with the room.  I’d like it to be more useful than a dumping ground and an occassional bed, but I’m not sure what to do with it.  We may turn it into my daughter’s bedroom once she out grows the crib.  I thought about turning it into an office, but I like being close to my husband so we can chat.  I hate having it under used, but I also don’t want to put a lot of work into it and then re-do it.   I suppose the first step is to deal with the clutter and get rid of what I don’t want then go from there.

Leave a Reply

