In Pursuit of an Organized Life

. . . putting life in order

Little Bit of Everything

on April 29, 2012

Had a lovely weekend.  Did a little bit of everything.   Nothing in-depth, but made progress.  We did most cleaning tasks.  Did anything sparkle, no–but we got the first layer of dirt off the whole house.

I love those magazine articles that breaks up a goal into a list of possible tasks that fit into the time span.  If you have 15 minutes, wipe off the counters, sinks and toilet.  If you have a half hour, add the mirrors and floor.  If you have an hour, add the tub and shower.  I’ve seen a similar list for cleaning, fitness, and stress relief.  Unfortunately, I didn’t save those or remember where I saw it.

I’ve been trying to do more of those mini tasks.   If I can’t see a friend in person, call them on the phone.  If I don’t have time to the gym, do push ups and abs.  It helps with time management and balance.   It also helps with the inertia of getting off of my butt.  It’s a lot easier for me to motivate myself to do 10 minutes than a full hour.  Every once in a while, I  will finish the mini task and keep going.

Now to plan for my week.  I have a busy week followed by a mellow week.  I have to find that balance of setting realistic expectations, but also not using my busy week of work as an excuse to ignore everything else.  Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

