In Pursuit of an Organized Life

. . . putting life in order

What motivates me?

on April 19, 2012

I had read the question “What motivates you?” somewhere and it had been stuck in my head for the past few days. I know that for kids who are struggling or people who are reaching a goal this is an important question. Thinking about it at first, I had no idea what my answer would be. As I thought about it more I realized that my main motivators were social interaction and deadlines.

I do much better getting tasks done when there is an official deadline. I know it’s coming, I plan ahead and I rarely miss deadlines. If I do, it bugs me significantly. Tasks that are equally important don’t get done because there is not a clear “due date”. Unfortunately, I’m not great at setting my own deadlines. I tend to view my deadlines as soft and flexible and other people’s deadlines as official.

The social aspect acts sometimes as a deadline. People are coming over so I should clean the house. The other aspect is if I have something social planned or completed I’m more willing to put in the time to do the less favored tasks like cleaning. Last night, I felt extremely lazy and down, but wanted to accomplish something. I called my cousin and chatted on the phone with her and then completed a few small tasks immediately after that.

Now how to incorporate these and find ways for them to help me accomplish what I want. Any ideas?

Leave a Reply

