In Pursuit of an Organized Life

. . . putting life in order

Promise of Productivity

on March 31, 2012

I woke up at 4 unable to fall back asleep. I meditated and tried to be still in order to not wake my husband and give sleep another try. After a half hour, I realized it wasn’t going to happen—so I got up. Honestly, I love the early morning solitude before the family awakens so I didn’t try too hard. I ordered some materials for school and replied to emails. Good things, but not house hold chores related which I am severely behind on. My system worked great the first week and I didn’t use it this past week. The chances of a system working if I don’t use them are slim.

I frequently tell myself that I will do specific tasks sometime in the future. My internal motivation has not taken care of it yet so I’m trying out some peer pressure. I realize the odds of someone hunting me down if I say something in my blog and don’t do it are slim, but it adds a sense of accountability and is worth a try.

Below are list of things I want to get done today or this weekend. Wish me luck!!

Priorities

  • Sweep (and Ideally wash) floor
  • Empty/Load dishwasher
  • Plan for School  Monday and Tuesday
  • Go to Tabata
  • Watch Awake or movie
  • Blog again
  • Talk to my mom
  • Make Stir Fry

I’d like to get done/Would be nice, but may not happen this weekend

  • Clean out car (in DESPERATE need)—-its hard for me to motivate myself to do it when its cold
  • Clean out/switch purses
  • Read more of my book
  • Take Bath
  • Clean bathrooms
  • Go for run
  • Plan for school Wed, Thurs, Friday
  • Draft student report
  • Be social—phone friend, get together with friend/family, schedule future social event

That’s probably plenty for this weekend.  Enjoy your day!

4 responses to “Promise of Productivity

  1. Patrick says:

    You just commented on my blog, helping me out with phonemes and allophones. I must say I checked out this blog and I think it’s VERY interesting. As a very OCD person it fascinates me. I see it has been in existence for a while now. Does it help? Would you consider yourself an organization pro? I just sent an e-mail to an author and EVP researcher on the best way to store and file EVP files for quick referencing. Maybe I should be asking you? 🙂

    • Glad to hear you enjoy the blog. It started out as a way to give the blogging world a try and thought a theme would help me keep from rambling too much. Organization was one of my biggest goals at the time so I figured blogging about it would be a good way to monitor progress. I do not consider myself an organization pro–nor would people who have been to my house 🙂 Work in progress.

  2. mamajoyx9 says:

    Oh, I’m so good at coming up with really amazing systems. But all my energy seems to go into coming up with them, never enough to actually implement them. If I could only settle for just a few systems and then stick to each one, I’d be rocking!!!

    • Ditto. I guess its better than not trying to improve on it. You could set a goal of how long to try it or limit your self to one new system a month? If you find something that works let me know.

Leave a Reply

