In Pursuit of an Organized Life

. . . putting life in order

“Once you know that it is possible, you can work on making it better.”

on December 28, 2011

I love the quote. I heard it on NPR today. “Once you know that it is possible, you can work on making it better.” The quote alludes to the theories of positive mind-set and also one step at a time. It’s easy to have big dreams of success and what “could be”, but it can seem so far away and unreal.  I also like that it focuses on succeeding at short term goals on route to the long term ones.

In the area of fitness, I think I have completed this portion this year. I shifted from I can be healthy/lose weight to I can be athletic. That I can not only check weekly exercise off my list, but enjoy it and am beginning to see measurable progress.  I have progressed with my fitness before that, but this is the first year where I believed it and see the value of exercise in itself—rather than a means to an end.

In the area of organization, I’m not quite there yet. I don’t feel like my life or house is organized. I’ve seen glimmers of it when I finnish a project or get the house clean for a party, but overall I don’t feel like organization is a strength of mine.  It still feels like a chore and a treadmill of frustration rather than a meaningful part of my life.

The quote is a good motivator for me to keep working at it and seek progress, not perfection.  Enjoy your day!! Now off to get stuff done rather than talk about it.

2 responses to ““Once you know that it is possible, you can work on making it better.”

  1. Karen says:

    And sometimes you just need to change your standard…or your expectation. My former co-worker(a fine Minnesotan) was all about adjusting the standards.

    Hope 2012 is good for you and your family:)

Leave a Reply

