In Pursuit of an Organized Life

. . . putting life in order

Survival/meal plan

on September 1, 2011

Well I am half way through with my first week. Man I’m tired. I didn’t get as much as I planned done, but I did squeeze in a run, clean a bathroom, washed a load of laundry, and tidy the main level. Not a lot, but more than lying on the couch after a long day.

I’m trying a new meal system. I was reading an organizational book and they suggested rotating a total of 20-28 meals. That way there is minimal planning and you have each meal 12-13 times a year. There are some meals I probably have more than that just because I’m lazy. He also suggested having a theme night for each day of the week—chicken, international, leftovers, meatless etc.

I’m doing a modified version of the plan. I printed out a monthly calendar and planned for just 1 month at a time. I don’t know that I have that many meals that I love enough to have monthly. So far the themes are Mexican/Italian, Sandwich (pizza, wrap, sandwich, etc), and Chicken/fish (we a lot of beef in our house). I have one more day a week that I just pick a recipe and put it on the chart. The rest of the days are open to grab whatever looks good at the store, eat frozen meals, or leftovers. So far I’ve planned the week, and cooked a few meals from my list. I’m hoping it makes me more purposeful with my meals and reduces the time I spend browsing cookbooks and making grocery lists. I’ll update you as I try the system more.

One response to “Survival/meal plan

  1. Karen says:

    Checking on your week. Hope the organized life is going well:)

Leave a Reply

