In Pursuit of an Organized Life

. . . putting life in order

Stalling

on July 23, 2011

I am blogging instead of getting stuff done.  I suppose I would get more done if I actually did the organizing instead of blogging about it.  I did some organizing since last I wrote.

 

  • Started organizing guest room.  Okay I admit it was more looking at old photos and reminscing.  At least, I emptied one box and designated it for garbage.  One of those places we just put things we don’t want to deal with yet.  There is so much stuff in there that is Lance’s or I want to keep but have no idea where to put.  It probably didn’t help that my daughter was helping.  She’d walk around and grab interesting stuff and periodically I’d hear a pile crash down.

 

  • Sorted through my cookbooks.  Made a pile of keep, maybe, and get rid of.  The maybe pile I want to try and pick some books and a deadline to use it or toss it.  Pick like 4 books for a two month period and if I don’t use it during that time toss it.  It will either get me to plan and cook more recipes or I will get rid of cookbooks.

Well I’m off to either eat breakfast or plan recipes/grocery list for the week.  Have a great day!  I’d love to know that someone besides me is reading it so leave a comment (even if its just to make me feel better—I don’t care if its clever or not).

3 responses to “Stalling

  1. Shannon says:

    I’m the same way with all my stuff. My parents can never move because I wouldn’t know where to put everything!

  2. Jenni says:

    I read it!

    I actually think blogging about your organizing is a good thing, then you can track your progress. Organizing your entire house is going to take a lot of time. We’ve gone through two areas where we just kind of shoved things when we moved in the house and we are nowhere near done. Once you get going though, it’s amazing how much stuff you’ll get rid of!

    I keep saying I’ll invite a bunch of people over during the winter to help organize my books and light a fire in the fireplace and make campfire-esque food. Hmm. Maybe I’ll get to that his winter. I have to find and unpack all of my books first.

    Take one room at a time and keep it up!

    • Mo says:

      Hopefully not the fire /fueled/ by the books.. you’d need to get to 451 degrees and that would scorch the marshmallows!

Leave a Reply

